Museum logo
Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Collection Number RG0847.AM
Collection Name RG0847 Cass County Agricultural Society (Cass County, Neb.)
Identifier Organizational records
Size and Materials 3 items
Title Cass County Agricultural Society collection
Date or Date Span 1881-1897
Year Range from 1881
Year Range to 1897
Admin/Biographical History The organization of this society was effected in 1857, with Thomas Patterson, President; J. D. Simpson, Secretary; W. H. Davis, Treasurer; and W. D. McCord, General Manager. Three exhibitions were made, of which no record is to be found, and of which little can be remembered, except that they were attended with interest, and fitly displayed the products of the new country--products as yet not cultivated to the degree of perfection they were afterward destined to reach. In 1861 came the war, and more vital interests absorbed the attention of those chiefly concerned, the result being that the society suspended its operations entirely.

In 1869, as the result of an effort of the best citizens of the county, a re-organization was effected, Maj. D. H. Wheeler being elected President, a position he now holds. Various grounds have been used for the purposes of the society, it owning none of its own. Since 1875, it has, by a special arrangement, made use of the elegant and beautifully situated property of the Plattsmouth Driving Park Association, treated of in its proper place.

The fifteenth annual exhibition of this society, held September 7, 8 and 9, 1881, offered and paid premiums on six kinds of graded cattle, and on all kinds of live stock, there being also a manufacturers' exhibit, and one of horticultural products. The present officers are as follows: President, Daniel H. Wheeler, Plattsmouth; Vice President, Harmon Bestor, Plattsmouth; Secretary, J. W. Wise, Plattsmouth; Treasurer, S. L. Thomas, Plattsmouth. Board of Directors--J. Vallery, Jr., H. E. Palmer, J. B. Meisinger, F. R. Guthmann, B. W. Briggs, A. B. Todd, J. C. Cummins. General Superintendent, Joseph C. Gilmore; Assistant Superintendent, Ami B. Todd; Chief of Police, R. W. Hyers. Vice Presidents--J. E. Morrison, Plattsmouth City; J. H. Burnett, Plattsmouth Precinct; Levi Churchill, Rock Bluffs Precinct; William Eikenberry, Liberty Precinct; O. Tefft, Avoca Precinct; James Hall, Mt. Pleasant Precinct; J. M. Craig, Eight Mile Grove Precinct; Ben Ward, Louisville Precinct; F. M. Wolcott, Center Precinct; Timothy Clark, Weeping Water Precinct; Cyrus Alton, Stove Creek Precinct; W. H. Pool, Elmwood Precinct; Jason Streight, South Bend Precinct; Edwin Jeary, Salt Creek Precinct; M. B. Cutler, Greenwood Precinct; J. M. Higgins, Tipton Precinct.

Taken from Andreas' History of the State of Nebraska.

The Cass County Agricultural Society is still active today.
Scope & Content The collection consists of two account books and a ticket register, 1881-1897, of the Cass County Agricultural Society. Names and amounts paid for cattle and horse stalls at county fairs are shown. A list of people and organizations that received complimentary tickets is included.
Subjects Fairs
People Bushnell, Herbert Martin, 1855-1920
Search Terms Agricultural societies
Cass County (Neb.) -- History
Fairs -- Nebraska -- Cass County